Sunday, November 8, 2015

The 5 Stages of Grief...

...and how they don't help anyone...

I really like how grief and the stages of grief are described in this article. It makes me not feel so alone. It is also helpful to hear the end of Elisabeth Kunler-Ross' story, instead of just her original thoughts that are engrained in so many of our minds. 

Grief happens when someone is "torn from your life" and when she explains it it makes sense. The stages were meant to normalize a deeply not normal time. One thing I'm taking and holding onto is "grief is as individual as love..." To change someone's grief story or "stage" would be similar to putting someone's love story into a box and telling them they did it wrong.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Images by Freepik